RSS

235 / 365 project: Abandoned

02 Jan

The sunset tonight was beautiful. I took over 100 of pictures of it. There was a considerable amount of jet traffic, also, with lots of contrails. I got some interesting shots of contrails lit up by the setting sun. I have pretty pictures of desert shrubbery and a Joshua tree, too. But as I sorted through today’s shots, I kept coming back to this bit of someone’s rubbish that had been dumped in the desert. I’m not even sure why I took this picture. I guess it says something to me about the reality of life as we begin this new year. Not all of life is pretty. Not all of life is fair. I’m reminded particularly of my human condition. There is nothing good in me. It is only by the grace and mercy of a God whose love is beyond understanding that I can be anything. ‘For there is no distinction: for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, whom God put forward as a propitiation by his blood, to be received by faith. This was to show God’s righteousness, because in his divine forbearance he had passed over former sins.’

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 2 January 2012 in 365 photo journey

 

Leave a Reply

 
