RSS

to secure your undivided devotion to the Lord

20 Jan

If there is something I really don’t like to think about it’s my youthful indiscretions. No. “Indiscretions” is a euphemism, and I don’t like euphemisms. And that’s exactly where I’m going.

Oh, I have plenty of stories; but I don’t like thinking about them, and I’m not about to tell. But what they really are not is indiscretions. It’s the nature of euphemisms to be used to avoid the truth, and to call sin an indiscretion is to avoid sin or to sugar coat sin. Why would we do that? Why do we want to avoid or sugar coat sin?

I’m sure there are plenty of reasons to avoid or sugar coat sin. I’m wondering if one of the first isn’t a refusal to accept that we really don’t want to follow God’s rules. I wonder, what options do we have? If we don’t like God’s rules we can willingly disobey them. If we don’t like God’s rules we can pretend He didn’t make rules. If we don’t like God’s rules, we can reinvent God, we can invent our own god after our own likeness and desires and say that He is all love and acceptance, a god without rules. We can pretend and live as if there are no consequences for not following God’s rules. We can create euphemisms and pretend what we do is not sin.

Or, we can submit to God’s rules. That’s not as comfortable. It makes remembering the sins of my youth painful (though I know they are forgiven and that they have been removed from me as far as the east is from the west or have been buried in the deepest part of the sea). I think this is what Pastor Paul is calling us to when he suggests we reexamine our priorities. He says it is when he concludes, ‘I say this for your own benefit, not to lay any restraint upon you, but to promote good order and to secure your undivided devotion to the Lord.’

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 20 January 2012 in Theology

 

One response to “to secure your undivided devotion to the Lord

  1. Susan Andrews

    20 January 2012 at 10:17 PM

    In our own arrogance & selfishness we dare to think that our ways are better than His. You show me someone who has gone their own way and I will show you a train wreck.

     

Leave a Reply

 
